MO State HS Sports

No. 3 Wrestling Prepped For Conference Dual With Wyoming, Dec. 8

WR Walkout vs. Oklahoma

MATCH THREE: #3 Missouri (2-0) vs. Wyoming (3-1)
Match Details Friday, Dec. 8 • 7 p.m. • Columbia, Mo. • Hearnes Center
Match Coverage FloWrestling 
Match Notes Missouri | Wyoming
Social Media Twitter: @MizzouWrestling | Instagram: @MizzouWrestling

COLUMBIA, Mo. – No. 3 Missouri wrestling welcomes Wyoming to Hearnes Center in Columbia on Friday, Dec. 8. The matchup begins at 7 p.m. CT and can be streamed on FloWrestling. 


  • Missouri defeated No. 18 Oklahoma on Dec. 1, 30-12, marking Mizzou’s sixth win out of the last seven duals against the Sooners.
  • The Tigers totaled two technical falls, two major decisions, and a fall in the win, highlighted by redshirt junior Logan Gioffre picking up his first ranked win of the reason in an SV-1 decision. 
  • Junior Keegan O’Toole earned his third pin of the season against No. 13 Cael Carlson, extending his record to 6-0, with all six wins coming via bonus points. 


  • Mizzou finished second at the Cougar Clash with 143.5 total team points on Dec. 2 and earned three individual weight titles at the tournament hosted by SIUE.
  • Redshirt sophomore Josh Edmond (141), junior Rocky Elam (197), and redshirt senior Zach Elam (285) all claimed the top spots in their brackets, respectively.
  • Four Tigers claimed second place with 12 total wrestlers placing in the tournament, including redshirt sophomore Colton Hawks (184). Hawks upset No. 7-ranked Isaiah Salazar of Minnesota in the semifinals by an 11-5 decision.
  • Additionally, redshirt sophomore Joel Mylin upset No. 31 Drew Roberts (Minnesota) by an 8-5 decision.


  • The matchup between the Tigers and Cowboys will be the 11th between the two programs, with Mizzou leading the series with an 8-2-0 record. 
  • Missouri has won seven consecutive duals against the Cowboys since the 1999-2000 season. 


  • Mizzou won the road dual against Wyoming last season, Jan. 14, 2023, 28-10. 
  • Connor Brown put Mizzou on the board first with a 16-2 major decision at 133 pounds. 
  • Both Brock Mauller (6-1) and redshirt senior Jarrett Jacques (10-8) earned decisions at 149 and 157 pounds, respectively. 
  • Keegan O’Toole earned the first-period pin at 165 pounds as the Tigers began to pull away from the Cowboys.
  • Both Peyton Mocco and Rocky Elam grabbed bonus-point victories to seal the dual, with Mocco getting a 15-5 major decision at 174 and Elam securing an 18-2 technical fall at 197. 


  • Brock Mauller (107), Zach Elam (87), Peyton Mocco (85), Keegan O’Toole (69), Rocky Elam (60) and Noah Surtin (53). 


  • Redshirt senior Brock Mauller has taken the three-point takedown rule change and ran with it, totaling three technical falls and a major decision in his first five matches of the 2023-24 season. 
  • During his freshman season (2018-19), Mauller earned 11 wins via bonus points over his 33 matches (.33). The redshirt senior holds a .800 bonus-point rate this season. 
  • Additionally, Mauller picked up his 107th win against John Wiley of Oklahoma on Dec. 1, moving him up the all-time wins list to 18th.


  • Redshirt junior Logan Gioffre (149) showed out for everyone at Hearnes Center, beating No. 22-ranked Willie McDougald 4-1 in a sudden-victory decision. 
  • The victory marks the first ranked win for Gioffre this season, in his first year starting for Mizzou. 
  • Willie McDougald finished second at the Big 12 Championship in 2021-22 and was an NCAA qualifier who went 2-2. 


  • Last season, Zach Elam totaled four falls, one tech fall, and two major decisions, while this season, he is off to a 10-0 start and has eight bonus-point wins, six of which are pins. 
  • Elam’s double-digit win total and .600 fall rate leads the team in 2023-24, and his .800 bonus rate is tied for first on the team. 
  • Furthermore, the Kansas City native is one of eight Big 12 wrestlers to have totaled six-or-more pins. 


  • Mizzou will return to action against the Air Force in Columbia, Mo., at the Hearnes Center on Sunday, Dec. 17, at 1 p.m. CT.
This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics