MO State HS Sports

Moore’s SEC Event Specialist of the Year Headlines Gymnastics Postseason Awards

Jocelyn Moore

COLUMBIA, Mo. — Junior Jocelyn Moore received the 2024 SEC Event Specialist of the Year award and No. 13 University of Missouri gymnastics leads the SEC with seven competitors selected to the All-SEC Team, and a pair of All-SEC Freshman Team honorees, the conference announced Wednesday. The Tigers who earned All-SEC honors include Moore, junior Amari Celestine, freshman Kennedy Griffin, freshman Hannah Horton, senior Sydney Schaffer, graduate student Sienna Schreiber and senior Mara Titarsolej. Griffin and Horton each earned All-SEC Freshman honors in addition to their All-SEC nod.

Moore, a native of Hillsborough, New Jersey, was selected for her first conference specialist of the year honor through voting by the SEC gymnastics head coaches. The junior standout entered the season as a two-time WCGA Regular-Season First Team All-American on vault, and continued to shine on that event with a 9.910 NQS on the event that tied for seventh in the conference and No. 21 in the country.

What set Moore apart was the strides she made on floor, where her 9.960 NQS set a Missouri program record, tied for fourth in the SEC and ninth in the nation. Across her 12 routines so far this season, she is one of two gymnasts in the conference to hit a 9.9 on every floor routine alongside 2024 SEC Gymnast of the Year Haleigh Bryant of LSU. She tied Missouri’s program floor record of 9.975 twice before finally breaking through at the Illinois Quad on March 17, picking up the first perfect 10 on floor in program history.

Moore is the third Missouri gymnast to earn SEC Event Specialist of the Year honors in the last five seasons. Helen Hu earned the program’s first such honor in 2020 and Sienna Schreiber shared the accolade with Auburn’s Derrian Gobourne in 2022.

Gymnasts earn All-SEC recognition by placing among the top two event scores (including ties) in each session of the SEC Championship meet. Freshmen qualify for All-SEC Freshman status by earning the top event score (including ties) in their session at the SEC Championship.

With their seven competitors selected, the Tigers have boasted five or more All-SEC selections for the third consecutive season. In Griffin and Horton, MU is one of two schools to have multiple All-SEC Freshman selections alongside Georgia.

Moore earned All-SEC recognition for the third time in as many seasons for her 9.900 performance on floor, which tied for the best score of the session.

Celestine qualified for the All-SEC Team by tying for the second-best vault score of the afternoon session with a 9.850 on her Yurchenko layout 1 and ½. The Wildomar, California, native has now earned All-SEC recognition in each of her three seasons as a Tiger.

Griffin qualified for both the All-SEC and All-SEC Freshman teams with her 9.900 floor routine, tying for the highest floor score in the session and marking the best score on the apparatus by a freshman in the session.

Horton secured All-SEC and All-SEC Freshman plaudits for her 9.900 vault score on her Yurchenko layout 1 and ½ that equaled the best score on the event in the session and set the best score by a freshman on the event in the afternoon.

Schaffer posted a 9.925 on beam to earn All-SEC honors with her best score of the season and the second-best result of the afternoon session. This is the first time that the Andover, Kansas, native secured an All-SEC placement in her career.

Schreiber claimed a spot on the All-SEC Team for the fourth consecutive season, as Schreiber posted a 9.900 to earn a share of the best floor score of the afternoon session.

Titarsolej rounds out Missouri’s All-SEC honorees as she won a share of the SEC bars title with her 9.950 performance on the apparatus. She held the highest score of the afternoon session and tied for the best score between the two sessions with LSU’s Ashley Cowan. The honor marks her first all-conference selection at Missouri.


The Tigers open NCAA Regional competition with the NCAA Gainesville Regional Second Round on Friday featuring No. 4 Florida, No. 20 Georgia and the winner of the play-in meet between Clemson and Iowa State. First touch is scheduled for 6 p.m. CT, and the competition will stream on ESPN+.


For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit For up-to-the-minute updates, follow the Tigers on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics