MO State HS Sports

Men’s Golf Opens SEC Championship Wednesday

Alfons Bondesson

The Missouri men’s golf team begins the postseason with the SEC Championship teeing off on Wednesday morning in Georgia.

The 2024 SEC Championship begins Wednesday morning with the first of three days of stroke play. Tee times begin at 7 a.m. CT at the Sea Island Golf Club.

After three days and 54 holes of stroke play, the top eight teams in the standings advance to match play, with the quarterfinals and semifinals set for Saturday, April 27 and the championship slated for Sunday, April 28. Sunday’s title bout is also set to air live on SEC Network, and Saturday’s semi-final on SEC Network+. The 14-team field features five teams in the top 10 and nine top-25 teams, including No. 1 Auburn.

Rated No. 1 in the U.S. among the “World’s 50 Best Golf Hotels” by Golf Digest Index, Sea Island Golf Club offers three exceptional 18-hole championship courses. The Seaside Course, home to the PGA TOUR’s McGladrey Classic, is a links course graced by majestic ocean vistas in the tradition of St. Andrews. The par 70 course measures 7,005 yards in length.

Set to compete in their 11th SEC Championship since joining the conference in 2012 and seventh since the league moved to a combined stroke play and match play championship, the Tigers have advanced to the quarterfinals three times, including the past two in a row (2017, 2022 and 2023).

Last year, Mizzou finished seventh place after 54 holes of action before falling to No. 15 Texas A&M in match play.

Alfons Bondesson and Charlie Crockett led Mizzou by finishing tied for eighth, a Missouri all-time best, during the stroke-play rounds, while Jack Lundin was 13th. The Tigers’ three top-15 finishers match the team’s total from its first nine championships combined as the only other Mizzou golfers to finish among the top 15 previously were Emilio Cuartero (9th in 2014), Rory Franssen (13th in 2017) and Jack Parker (15th in 2022).

1 – Jack Lundin
2 – Charlie Crockett
3 – Alfons Bondesson
4 – Adam Miller
5 – Virgilio Paz
Alt – Trevor Mierl

The Tigers learn their postseason fate during the NCAA Championship selection show, slated for Wednesday, May 1 at 1 p.m. CT.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics