MO State HS Sports

Keegan O’Toole Wins 165 Title At Big 12 Wrestling Championship

Keegan O'Toole_Big 12 2024

TULSA, Okla. –  University of Missouri wrestling finished the 2024 Big 12 Championship in fourth place with 115.5 points on March 10, inside the BOK Center. The Tigers totaled nine automatic qualifiers for the NCAA Championship on March 21-23 in Kansas City, Missouri. 


Seven wrestlers were active in the medal round to start the day. Redshirt juniors Noah Surtin and Logan Gioffre both took medical forfeit losses. Redshirt sophomore Josh Edmond will return to the NCAA Championship after pulling off an upset to claim third place at 141 pounds. Redshirt senior Brock Mauller wrestled tough to finish his tournament with a win in the fifth-place match. At 184 pounds, redshirt sophomore Colton Hawks claimed his third win of the season over Iowa State’s Will Feldkamp in a fifth-place performance. In his final Big 12 Tournament match, redshirt senior Zach Elam brought home his fifth consecutive third-place trophy. 


Two Tigers competed in conference finals matches. Junior Keegan O’Toole claimed a victory over Iowa State’s David Carr in a highly anticipated rematch. The 8-2 decision gave O’Toole the 165-pound conference title. At 197 pounds, classmate Rocky Elam took a tough loss to Tanner Sloan of South Dakota State in the championship bout by a 1-0 decision to finish in second place.


  • Mizzou earned nine automatic qualifiers to the NCAA Championship, March 21-23, marking the fourth consecutive season with nine or more qualifiers for the Tigers. The automatic bids were earned by Noah Surtin (125), Josh Edmond (141), Logan Gioffre (149), Brock Mauller (157), Keegan O’Toole (165), Peyton Mocco (174), Colton Hawks (184), Rocky Elam (197), and Zach Elam (285).
  • Hawks’ victory in the fifth-place match marked his third victory over Feldkamp this season. All three wins have come in the last two weeks, with the first being at the dual meet on Feb. 25.
  • Z. Elam competed in his fifth conference tournament, earning third-place honors at each conference meet. The redshirt senior’s first conference tournament was in 2019 when he helped Mizzou to a MAC Championship.
  • Edmond tallied two more ranked wins in the consolations, coming over Jordan Titus of West Virginia and Tagen Jamison of Oklahoma State.
  • With his win over David Carr, O’Toole claims his third conference title and second in the Big 12. Additionally, the pair hold a 2-2 record against each other in their careers.
  • R. Elam fell 2-3 against Sloan, with his last victory coming over the Jackrabbit coming in the Big 12 finals last season by 2-1 TB-1 decision.
  • O’Toole’s title at 165 pounds gives the Tigers three individual conference champions since rejoining the Big 12 prior to the 2021-22 season.


The Tigers will head to the NCAA Championship on March 21-23 in Kansas City, Missouri. The first session begins at 11 a.m. CT on March 21. Sessions I, III, and V can be streamed on ESPNU, with sessions II, IV, and VI on ESPN.


Visit for the latest information on all things Mizzou Wrestling. You can also find the Tigers on social media by liking us on Facebook (Mizzou Wrestling) and following us on Twitter and Instagram (@MizzouWrestling).

MISSOURI RESULTS (Through Sessions III and IV)

125 – Noah Surtin (#1 Seed), Sixth Place, 1-3

Noah Surtin over Elijah Griffin (CBU) by SV-1 7-4

Jore Volk (WYO) over Noah Surtin by Dec. 6-5

Jett Strickenberger (WVU) over Noah Surtin by MFF

Tanner Jordan (SDSU) over Noah Surtin by MFF

133 – Kade Moore (#6 Seed), DNP, 1-2 

Kade Moore over Bubba Wright (USAFA) by MD 11-3

Dominick Serrano (UNC) over Kade Moore by Dec. 6-3

Kase Mauger (UVU) over Kade Moore by Fall (2:08)

141 – Josh Edmond (#6 Seed), Third Place, 4-1

Cael Happel (UNI) over Josh Edmond by Dec. 10-3

Josh Edmond over Darren Green (CBU) by Fall (3:29)

Josh Edmond over Haiden Drury (UVU) by Dec. 7-4 

Josh Edmond over Jordan Titus (WVU) by INJ DEF 

Josh Edmond over Tagen Jamison (OSU) by Dec. 8-1

149 – Logan Gioffre (#8 Seed), Sixth Place, 3-3

Logan Gioffre over Benji Alanis (UNC) by Dec. 4-1

Casey Swiderski (ISU) over Logan Gioffre by Dec. 4-2

Logan Gioffre over James Emmer (UVU) by Dec. 5-1

Logan Gioffre over Alek Martin (SDSU) by Dec. 1-1 TB-1

Gabe Willochell (WYO) over Logan Gioffre by MFF

Willie McDougald (OU) over Logan Gioffre by MFF

157 – Brock Mauller (#5 Seed), Fifth Place, 4-2

Brock Mauller over Caleb Dowling (UNI) by Dec. 2-1

Cody Chittum (ISU) over Brock Mauller by Dec. 7-3

Brock Mauller over Chaz Hallmark (CBU) by MD 17-8

Brock Mauller over Vinny Zerban (UNCO) by Dec. 4-1 SV-1

Cael Swensen (SDSU) over Brock Mauller by Dec. 4-3

Brock Mauller over Jared Hill (OU) by TF 19-3 ()

165 – Keegan O’Toole (#1 Seed), First Place, 3-0

Keegan O’Toole over Cooper Voorhees (WYO) by Fall (2:15)

Keegan O’Toole over Izzak Olejnik (OSU) by Dec. 7-1

Keegan O’Toole over David Carr (ISU) by Dec. 8-2

174 – Peyton Mocco (#4 Seed), Sixth Place, 2-3

Peyton Mocco over Peter Acciardi (CBU) by Fall (6:49)

Peyton Mocco over Jared Simma (UNI) by Dec. 10-4

Cade DeVos (SDSU) over Peyton Mocco by Dec. 2-0

MJ Gaitan (ISU) over Peyton Mocco by MD 13-5

Brody Conley (WVU) over Peyton Mocco by MD 10-1

184 – Colton Hawks (#4 Seed), Fifth Place, 3-2

Colton Hawks over Adam Cherne (NDSU) by MD 17-3

Colton Hawks over Will Feldkamp (ISU) by MD 13-2 

Parker Keckeisen (UNI) over Colton Hawks by Dec. 11-3

Bennett Berge (SDSU) over Colton Hawks by Dec. 4-2

Colton Hawks over Will Feldkamp (ISU) by Dec. 9-7

197 – Rocky Elam (#3 Seed), Second Place, 2-1

Rocky Elam over Joey Novak (WYO) by Dec. 5-1

Rocky Elam over Stephen Buchanan (OU) by Dec. 5-4

Tanner Sloan (SDSU) over Rocky Elam by Dec. 1-0

285 – Zach Elam (#3 Seed), Third Place, 4-1

Zach Elam over Deven Dawson (NDSU) by Dec. 1-0

??Zach Elam over Chase Trussell (UVU) by Dec. 5-0

Yonger Bastida (ISU) over Zach Elam by MD 11-3

Zach Elam over Konner Doucet (OSU) by Dec. 2-0

Zach Elam over Josh Heindselman (OU) by MD 8-0

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics