MO State HS Sports

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic Champions! No. 9 Football Takes Down No. 7 Ohio State

Cody Schrader

Arlington, Texas – The Missouri football team finished off a memorable 2023 campaign, defeating No. 7 Ohio State, 14-3, to win the 88th Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic Friday night.

Earning the victory in a battle of top-10 schools, Missouri completes the campaign with an 11-2 record. The Tigers also won their third Cotton Bowl Classic, following 2008 and 2014 triumphs in the New Year’s Six Bowl.

Trailing by three points entering the fourth quarter, Mizzou used a pair of 90-plus-yard drives to move in front by double digits. Cody Schrader finished off an eight-play, 95-yard drive with a seven-yard run five seconds into the frame to give the Tigers the lead for good. MU then added a 13-play, 91-yard drive when Brady Cook found Luther Burden III for a seven-yard score with 5:12 remaining and a 14-3 advantage.

The Mizzou defense took it from there, sealing the win when Daylan Carnell forced a fumble with just over three minutes remaining. Overall, the Tigers allowed the Buckeyes (11-2) just 203 yards of total offense, holding Ohio State to less than 10 points for the first time since the 2017 Fiesta Bowl.

Schrader led the Mizzou attack with 128 yards and one touchdown on 29 carries. He also finished the campaign with 1,628 rushing yards, establishing a new single-season school record.

Cook was named Cotton Bowl Classic Most Outstanding Offensive Player, completing 11 passes for 128 yards and one touchdown, while also running for an additional 66 yards. Johnny Walker, Jr. was named Most Outstanding Defensive Player with one sack and one forced fumble.

Full Recap to Follow…

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics