MO State HS Sports

Cook Named Davey O’Brien Semifinalist

Mizzou Football vs Kansas State on September 16, 2023 in Faurot Field.(Photo by Reesi Nesbitt)

COLUMBIA, Mo. – University of Missouri quarterback Brady Cook is one of 20 semifinalists for the National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee announced Tuesday. 

Cook has been a key cog in the offense as Mizzou has run off to an 8-2 record and a No. 11 ranking in this week’s Associated Press poll. He is 201-of-296 for 2,746 yards with 17 touchdowns over six interceptions. One of Mizzou’s offensive captains, he’s completed almost 68% of his passes (67.9) and averaged 274.6 yards per game with a 160.7 QB rating. He’s fourth in the Southeastern Conference in yards per game (274.6) and ranks among the league’s top-five signal callers in the statistical rankings.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 47th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner honoring the winner will be held Monday, Feb. 19, 2024, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists. The finalists will again be chosen based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as bonus ballots awarded from the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote.

For the fourth straight year, the Fan Vote takes place on the award’s three social media platforms —FacebookInstagram and Twitter (X)— and the top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting their quarterback. The second round will be open until Friday, Nov. 24 at noon (CT). The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 28, while the winner will be announced live on Friday, Dec. 8, on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

2023 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists
Carson Beck, Georgia, Jr., 6-4, 220, Jacksonville, Fla.
Brady Cook, Missouri, Jr., 6-2, 205, St. Louis, Mo.
Jayden Daniels, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 210, San Bernardino, Calif.
Jaxson Dart, Ole Miss, Jr., 6-2, 220, Kaysville, Utah
Quinn Ewers, Texas, So., 6-2, 195, Southlake, Texas
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, Sr., 5-11, 204, Mililani, Hawaii
Sam Hartman, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-1, 212, Charlotte, N.C.
Drake Maye, North Carolina, So., 6-4, 230, Huntersville, N.C.
J.J. McCarthy, Michigan, Jr., 6-3, 202, La Grange Park, Ill.
Jordan McCloud, James Madison, Sr., 6-0, 199, Tampa, Fla.
Kyle McCord, Ohio State, Jr., 6-3, 215, Mt. Laurel, N.J.
Jalen Milroe, Alabama, So., 6-2, 220, Katy, Texas
Bo Nix, Oregon, Sr., 6-3, 214, Pinson, Ala.
Michael Penix Jr., Washington, Sr., 6-3, 213, Tampa, Fla.
Michael Pratt, Tulane, Jr., 6-3, 220, Boca Raton, Fla.
Kaidon Salter, Liberty, So., 6-1, 200, Cedar Hill, Texas
Shedeur Sanders, Colorado, Jr., 6-2, 215, Dallas, Texas
Jordan Travis, Florida State, Sr., 6-1, 212, West Palm Beach, Fla.
DJ Uiagalelei, Oregon State, Jr., 6-4, 252, Inland Empire, Calif.
Caleb Williams, USC, Jr., 6-1, 220, Washington, D.C.

2023 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Timeline
Semifinalists Announced
 (Tuesday, Nov. 14)
Finalist Round Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 14-Friday, Nov. 24)
Finalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 28) 
Winner Round Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 28-Friday, Dec. 1)
Winner Announced on Home Depot College Football Awards (Friday, Dec. 8)
47th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner (Monday, Feb. 19, 2024)

The Tigers close their home schedule when they host the Florida Gators on Saturday, Nov. 18, at Memorial Stadium/Faurot Field. The game will kick at 6:30 p.m. CT and will be televised by ESPN.

Limited reserved seats and Hill tickets are available for the Florida game by calling 1-800-CAT-PAWS or buying online

For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit For up-to-the-minute updates, follow Missouri football (@MizzouFootball) and Coach Drinkwitz (@CoachDrinkwitz) on X. You can also find the Tigers on Instagram and Facebook.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $1.3 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics