MO State HS Sports

Chase Coffman Named To SEC’s 2023 Legends Class

2023 SEC FB Legends - Chase Coffman - wide

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Former University of Missouri standout tight end Chase Coffman was named to the 2023 Southeastern Conference Football Legends class presented by T-Mobile, the league office announced Thursday.

The class will be honored at the 2023 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” December 1-2 in Atlanta, Ga, highlighted by the annual SEC Legends Celebration presented by T-Mobile on Friday, December 1 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.  The group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Saturday, December 2.

The most prolific pass-catching tight end in Mizzou history, Coffman may also have been the best red-zone scoring threat ever to don a Tiger uniform. A four-year letterman, he won the 2008 John Mackey Award, given to the nation’s top tight end and earned consensus first-team All-America honors that season. In his career, Coffman set Mizzou records with 247 catches and 30 touchdowns. At the time of his matriculation, his 247 career receptions stood as the NCAA career record for tight ends. An All-Big 12 selection in 2006 and 2008, he was first-team Freshman All-America in 2005. Coffman was a third-round pick of the Cincinnati Bengals in the 2009 NFL draft, and also played with Tampa Bay, Tennessee, Atlanta, Seattle and Indianapolis during a seven-year pro career. He was inducted into the Mizzou Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame in 2014 and the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in 2019.

The 2023 Football Legends Class includes 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions.  This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections, Academic All-Americans and NFL standouts.  The group represents teams that won SEC Championships, won Super Bowl titles and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

Below is a listing of the 2023 SEC Football Legends:

  • Alabama – Andre Smith, Offensive Tackle, 2006-08 
  • Arkansas – Dick Bumpas, Defensive Tackle, 1968-70
  • Auburn – Ed King, Offensive Lineman, 1988-90
  • Florida – Shane Matthews, Quarterback, 1990-92
  • Georgia – Knowshon Moreno, Running Back, 2007-08
  • Kentucky – Wesley Woodyard, Linebacker, 2004-07
  • LSU – James Britt, Defensive Back, 1979-82
  • Ole Miss – Patrick Willis, Linebacker, 2003-06
  • Mississippi State – Reggie Kelly, Tight End, 1995-98
  • Missouri – Chase Coffman, Tight End, 2005-08
  • South Carolina – Marcus Lattimore, Running Back, 2010-12
  • Tennessee – Joey Kent, Wide Receiver, 1992-96
  • Texas A&M – Ray Childress, Defensive Lineman, 1981-84
  • Vanderbilt – Jamie Winborn, Linebacker, 1998-2000
This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics