MO State HS Sports

Peoples Named Broyles Award Semifinalist

23 Preseason - Faurot Field From Rock M

COLUMBIA, Mo. – University of Missouri football assistant coach Kevin Peoples was selected as one of 15 semifinalists for the 2023 Broyles Award, The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced.

The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coaches. The 57 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 131 FBS programs across the country. 

Peoples, who coaches the edge defensive line group for the Tigers, came to Mizzou in January of 2022 and made an immediate impact, mentoring defensive ends Isaiah McGuire and DJ Coleman – both currently in the NFL. A highly-rated recruiter, Peoples, a great technician and teacher of the game, rebuilt the edge group in 2023 with new starters Darius Robinson and Johnny Walker Jr. Along with transfers Nyles Gaddy and Joe Moore III, the edge group has contributed 15.5 sacks and 23 tackles for a loss. 

A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the Football Writers Association of America narrowed the list of nominees to 15 semi-finalists. Five finalists will be selected from this list. Then an overall winner will be named.

The No. 9 Tigers close out the regular season with the annual Battle Line Rivalry on Friday, Nov. 24, in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Game time at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium will be 3:00 p.m. CT and the game will be televised on CBS and air on Tiger Radio Network.

For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit For up-to-the-minute updates, follow Missouri football (@MizzouFootball) and Coach Drinkwitz (@CoachDrinkwitz) on X. You can also find the Tigers on Instagram and Facebook.

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on FacebookX and Instagram. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee, and current college head coaches. The Broyles Award is presented by Oaklawn, Hot Springs, Arkansas. Proceeds from the 2023 Broyles Award support the Broyles Foundation’s mission to provide a game plan for Alzheimer’s caregivers through education, support, and resources.


This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics