MO State HS Sports

Burden III Named Semifinalist For Biletnikoff Award

NCAA Football: Florida at Missouri

COLUMBIA, Mo. – University of Missouri wide receiver Luther Burden III was named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2023 Biletnikoff Award, The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Monday. 

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season’s outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

Burden joins Georgia TE Brock Bowers, Florida State’s Keon Coleman, Oregon’s Troy Franklin, Marvin Harrison Jr. from Ohio State, Xavier Legette from South Carolina, Rome Odunze from Washington, LSU’s duo of Malik Nabers and Brian Thomas Jr. and Malik Washington from Virginia on the semifinalist list.

One of the most exciting players in college football, Burden — also a semifinalist for the 87th Maxwell Award — is third in the SEC in receiving, racking up 103.8 yards per game and is the eighth 1,000-yard receiver in school history. 

He has six 100-yard games this season and his season total of 1,142 receiving yards ranks third overall in the SEC, while his 77 receptions rank second. Burden’s yardage total for the year ranks fourth all-time on MU’s single-season list, trailing only Danario Alexander (1,781), Jeremy Maclin (1,260) and Victor Bailey (1,210). 

Additionally, he moved into a tie for seventh on the Tigers’ single-season receptions list (77), matching Bud Sasser’s 2014 season total with his nine-catch night Saturday vs. Florida. Burden turned in a noteworthy start to the 2023 season, logging five consecutive 100-yard receiving performances (Sept. 9-Oct. 7). The only Missouri receiver to previously exceed that feat was Danario Alexander, who recorded six straight 100-yard performances in 2009. 

Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2023 FanVote. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists, finalists (three receivers), and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.

Voting to determine the three finalists will take place from Nov. 20-25, 2023, with the finalists being named on Nov. 28. The Biletnikoff Award Winner announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, set to air on ESPN from 6-7:30 p.m. CT on Friday, Dec. 8, 2023.

The No. 9 Tigers close out the regular season with the annual Battle Line Rivalry on Friday, Nov. 24, in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Game time at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium will be 3:00 p.m. CT and the game will be televised on CBS and air on Tiger Radio Network.

For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit For up-to-the-minute updates, follow Missouri football (@MizzouFootball) and Coach Drinkwitz (@CoachDrinkwitz) on X. You can also find the Tigers on Instagram and Facebook.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics